رسالة ترحيب من مدير المدرسة

مرحبًا بكم في مدرسة جيمس رويال دبي

أعزائي مجتمع مدرسة جيمس رويال دبي،

يسعدني ويشرفني انضمامي إلى عائلة مدرسة جيمس رويال دبي في أغسطس 2021 كمدير جديد للمدرسة، وأن تتاح لي الفرصة للبناء على العمل الرائع الذي قامت به السيدة فيكي مارتن وفريقها.

إن مدرسة جيمس رويال دبي مدرسة متميزة ذات تصنيف متميز وأنا أتطلع بشدة إلى مقابلة أعضاء مجتمع مدرسة جيمس رويال دبي والاستماع إليهم حول الميزات التي تجدي نفعًا وكيف يمكننا إدخال المزيد من التحسينات على هذه المدرسة بهدف رئيسي وهو ضمان أن يتلقى الأطفال في رعايتنا أفضل تعليم وخبرات يمكن تقديمها.

لقد حصلت على درجة البكالوريوس (مع مرتبة الشرف) في جامعة لانكستر بتخصص في التعليم الابتدائي. وقد كنت أتولى القيادة والتدريس في مدارس عالية الجودة لأكثر من 30 عامًا وكان من دواعي سروري العيش والعمل في المملكة المتحدة والكويت وماليزيا وسوريا وعُمان وجمهورية التشيك ومصر. لقد كنت ناظرًا/ مديرًا للمدرسة منذ عام 2002 واكتسبت على مر السنين خبرة واسعة في تحسين المدارس وقيادتها من خلال عمليات التفتيش الخاصة بالمدارس البريطانية في الخارج (BSO) إضافة إلى اعتمادي مجلس المدارس الدولية (CIS) والبكالوريا الدولية (IB).

وكنت رئيسًا لمدرسة براغ البريطانية الدولية من 2006-2018، حيث ارتقيت بتصنيف المدرسة من "جيد" إلى "ممتاز" وزاد عدد الطلاب من 500 إلى أكثر من 1200 طالب. وفي عام 2018، شغلت منصب مدير مدرسة القاهرة الجديدة البريطانية الدولية بمصر، وهي مدرسة عالمية للبكالوريا الدولية (IB) بها 700 طالب تتراوح أعمارهم بين 3 و 18 عامًا. وهي أيضًا مدرسة معتمدة من مجلس المدارس الدولية (CIS) ومجلس المدارس البريطانية في الخارج (BSO) ومركز تدريب مجلس المدارس الدولية البريطانية (COBIS) للشرق الأوسط، كما تم تتويج المدرسة أيضًا بجائزة المدرسة الدولية لعام 2020 لمبادرتها الرعوية.

وأثناء العمل بدوام كامل، حصلت على درجة الماجستير في القيادة التطبيقية والإدارة من جامعة لندن كما حصلت على المؤهل المهني الوطني للرئاسة (NPQH).

أنا مفتش فريق المدارس المستقلة المدرب وأسافر إلى المدارس في جميع أنحاء العالم لتقييم ما إذا كانت تفي بالمعايير اللازمة لاعتماد المدارس البريطانية في الخارج. ورسميًا كنت عضوًا منتخبًا في مجلس إدارة المدارس الدولية البريطانية (COBIS) لمدة 10 سنوات وترأست لجنة الأحداث الطلابية لسنوات عديدة، حيث أسست دورة ألعاب COBIS في عام 2012.

وعلى الصعيد الشخصي، فعلى مدار 22 عامًا مضت، حظيت بحياة زوجية سعيدة مع زوجتي إيمي بينتنك فان شوونهيتن، وهي سيدة هولندية، ولدينا ثلاثة أطفال رائعون يدرسون ويعملون جميعًا الآن في هولندا. ولدينا أيضًا زوج من الكلاب هما بيلي وجينيس. وستأتي إيمي وبرفقتها زوج الكلاب، معي إلى دبي في أغسطس. نتطلع إلى بناء منزلنا الجديد في دبي ولا يساورني شك في أن أطفالنا سيصبحون زوارًا متكررين نظرًا للجاذبية الرائعة التي تحظى بها المدينة.

أنا أؤمن بشدة ببناء فرق ممتازة والعمل مع المجتمع بأكمله لإخراج الأفضل في الجميع. أهدف إلى التأكد من أن مدرسة جيمس رويال دبي هي أفضل مدرسة في المنطقة والمدرسة التي يتطلع الجميع إلى أن يلتحقوا بها. أريد أن أرى كل طفل سعيدًا ومتحمسًا عند مجيئه إلى المدرسة والتحدث بشغف عن خبراته المثيرة والمليئة بالتحديات في مدرسة جيمس رويال دبي. أريد أيضًا أن أرى الآباء يشعرون بالثقة والسعادة تجاه خيار إرسال أطفالهم إلى مدرسة جيمس رويال دبي، وآمنين لأنهم سيحصلون على كل فرصة للنبوغ وأن يصبحوا مواطنين مسؤولين عن المستقبل.

أريد أيضًا أن أجعل فريق العمل سعداء، وأضمن حصولهم على كل ما يحتاجون إليه ليكونوا مستعدين مهنيًا وشخصيًا لتقديم تعليم متميزيلبي احتياجات كل طفل.

أحب زيارة الفصول الدراسية بشكل منتظم لأرى كيف يتعلم الأطفال ولمناقشة التقدم الذي يحرزه المعلمين مع طلابهم. سيظل باب مكتبي مفتوحًا لأي شخص يرغب في التحدث عن كل ما يتعلق بأطفاله. إنه لشرف عظيم حقًا أن أتولى قيادة مدرسة جيمس رويال دبي لايصالها لمراحل جديدة من الازدهار وأتطلع بشدة إلى مقابلة كل واحد منكم قريبًا.

اقتباسات ملهمة

عندما سُئلت عن اقتباس تعليمي ملهم، لم أتمكن ببساطة من الاختيار بين الاقتباسين المفضلين من Steve Irwin (1962-2006) خبير الحياة البرية الأسترالي، والتربوي البريطاني السير Ken Robinson (1950-2020).

لذلك سأختار كلا الاقتباسين وأسألك سؤالاً... ما هو الاقتباس الأكثر إلهامًا لك؟

"أرى أن التعليم يدور حول كونك متحمسًا لشيء ما. تساعد رؤية الشغف والحماس في نشر رسالة تعليمية". Steve Irwin

يتحدث Steve Irwin عن أهمية الشغف والحماس. بالنسبة لي، يتعلم الأطفال بشكل أفضل عندما يتتلمذون على يد مدرسين متحمسين يجعلون التعلم مثيرًا لطلابهم. 

"بالنسبة لمعظمنا، المشكلة ليست أننا نهدف إلى مستوى عالٍ جدًا ونفشل. بل العكس تماما: نحن نهدف إلى مستوى منخفض للغاية وننجح " السير Ken Robinson

اقتباس السير Ken Robinson مهم بالنسبة لي لأننا جميعًا نخطئ أحيانًا باتخاذ الطريق السهل كطريقة لتجنب الفشل. يجب أن نكون جميعًا مستعدين لتحمل المخاطر المحسوبة وتحدي أنفسنا إذا كنا سننمو ونطور أكثر.

أي اقتباس يلهمك أكثر؟



 مع أطيب التحيات،

جون باغست

الصفحات ذات الصلة

X
تساعدنا ملفات تعريف الارتباط على تحسين تجربتك في استخدام موقعنا وتعزيزها.
ومن خلال استخدام الموقع، فإنكم توافقون على سياسة ملفات تعريف الارتباط الخاصة بنا.
تأكيد

john

Welcome Message from the Principal

Welcome to GEMS Royal Dubai School

Dear RDS Community,

I am thrilled and privileged to be joining the GEMS Royal Dubai School family in August 2021 as the school’s new Principal, and to have the opportunity to build on the wonderful work done by Vicky Martin and her team. 

RDS is an Outstanding-rated premium school and I very much look forward to meeting and listening to members of the RDS community about what works well and how we can bring further enhancements to this amazing school with the central purpose of ensuring the children in our care are receiving the very best education and experiences that can be offered.

I gained my B.Ed (Hons) at Lancaster University with a specialism in primary school education. I have now been leading and teaching in quality schools for over 30 years and have had the pleasure to live and work in the UK, Kuwait, Malaysia, Syria, Oman, Czech Republic and Egypt. I have been a Head of School / Principal since 2002 and have over the years gained extensive experience in improving and leading schools through British Schools Overseas (BSO) inspections as well as CIS and IB accreditation. 

I was Head of Primary at Prague British International School from 2006-2018, leading the school from ‘good’ to ‘excellent’ and growing the student population from 500 to over 1,200. In 2018, I took up the position of Principal of The New Cairo British International School, Egypt, an IB World School of 700 students aged 3-18. It is also a CIS- and BSO-accredited school, a COBIS training Centre for the Middle East, and the school was crowned International School of the Year 2020 for its pastoral initiative.

While working fulltime, I acquired an MA in Applied Leadership and Management from University of London, and gained the National Professional Qualification for Headship (NPQH). 

I am a trained Independent Schools Team Inspector and travel to schools around the world to assess if they meet the necessary standards for British Schools Overseas Accreditation. Formally, I have been an elected member of the COBIS Board for 10 years and chaired the student events committee for many years, founding the COBIS Games in 2012.

On a personal note, for the last 22 years, I have been happily married to Aimee Bentinck van Schoonheten, who is a Dutch national, and together we have three wonderful children who are now all studying and working in The Netherlands. We also have two dogs called Bailey and Guinness. Aimee, as well as our dogs, will accompany me to Dubai in August. We look forward to building our new home in Dubai and I have no doubts that our children will be frequent visitors given the wonderful appeal of the city.

I am a great believer in building excellent teams and working together with the entire community to bring out the very best in everyone. I aim to ensure RDS is the best school in the region and a school where people want to be. I want to see every child happy and excited when coming to school and talking with passion about their wonderfully engaging and challenging experiences at RDS. I also want to see parents feeling confident and happy with the choice they have made to send their child to RDS, and safe in the knowledge that their children will be given every opportunity to flourish and become responsible citizens for the future.

I also want to make staff happy, and ensure they have all they need to be professionally and personally prepared for providing outstanding, passionate teaching that caters for every single child’s needs. 

I like to visit classrooms on a regular basis to see how the children are learning and to discuss with them their progress. My door will always be open for anyone who wishes to talk about anything related to their children. It really is a great honour to come and lead RDS into its next chapter and I very much look forward to meeting each and every one of you soon. 

Inspirational Quotes

When asked for an inspirational educational quote, I simply could not choose between favourites from Steve Irwin (1962-2006) the Australian wild life expert, and British educationist Sir Ken Robinson (1950-2020). 

I am therefore going to choose both quotes and ask you a question … which quote most inspires you?

“I believe that education is all about being excited about something. Seeing passion and enthusiasm helps push an educational message.” Steve Irwin

Steve Irwin talks about the importance of passion and being excited. For me, children learn best when they have passionate teachers who make learning exciting for their students.   

“For most of us, the problem isn’t that we aim too high and fail. It’s just the opposite: we aim too low and succeed.” Sir Ken Robinson

Sir Ken Robinson’s quote is important to me as we all sometimes make the mistake of taking the easy route as a way to avoid failure. We should all be prepared to take calculated risks and challenge ourselves if we are going to grow and develop further.

Which quote inspires you the most?

 

With kindest regards,

John Bagust

More To Explore

X
Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Confirm